“Put not your trust in princes, nor in the son of man, in whom there is no help. His breath goeth forth, he returneth to his earth; in that very day his thoughts perish.”
Psalm 146:3-4

Pride is one of the many things man has no lack of. When things go wrong in our lives, blame is put on circumstances or people. We elevate ourselves above others. God created all things to glorify Himself through them. God gives life, He upholds life, and He sustains life, yes, He is life. “For in him we live, and move, and have our being; as certain also of your own poets have said, For we are also his offspring” (Acts 17:28). Their misplaced trust has brought much misery and sorrow into God’s creation. “For he breaketh me with a tempest, and multiplieth my wounds without cause. He will not suffer me to take my breath, but filleth me with bitterness.” (Job 9:17-18). Thankfully God not only gives, upholds, and sustains life, but also in His goodness opens the eyes of the rebellious so that they are made willing to trust and obey Him. “The LORD openeth the eyes of the blind: the LORD raiseth them that are bowed down: the LORD loveth the righteous” (Psalm 146:8). This brings remorse as they can see no righteousness, but only unrighteousness in themselves. In all this God hides Himself, leaving them to fend for themselves. “I will go and return to my place, till they acknowledge their offence, and seek my face: in their affliction they will seek me early” (Hosea 5:15).
Man has turned away from their Creator, but God’s plan has not changed. “And I will sow her unto me in the earth; and I will have mercy upon her that had not obtained mercy; and I will say to them which were not my people, Thou art my people; and they shall say, Thou art my God” (Hosea 2:23). God had to send His Son, Jesus Christ as a ransom for the salvation of His people to become a reality. He came unwanted and uncalled to reconcile and restore them into communion with God again. As He was being crucified His prayer was, “Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do” (Luke 23:34b). The love of God for His people turns them from a misplaced trust in man, to love and trust Him completely. Songs of gratitude are heard as they praise the Triune God for this great deliverance.
Hallelujah, praise Jehovah, O my soul, Jehovah praise;
I will sing the glorious praises; of my God through all my days.

Put no confidence in princes, nor for help on man depend;
He shall die, to dust returning, and his purposes shall end.

Heav’n and earth the Lord created, Seas and all that they contain;
He delivers from oppression, righteousness He will maintain.

Over all God reigns forever, through all ages He is King;
Unto Him, thy God, O Zion, joyful hallelujahs sing.
Psalter 400: 1, 2, 4, and 7
Written by: Cornelius VanKempen

