The Guide of the Blind“And I will bring the blind by a way that they knew not; I will lead them in paths that they have not known: I will make darkness light before them, and crooked things straight. These things will I do unto them, and not forsake them.” Isaiah 42:16

Blindness is one of the saddest impediments brought about by the fall of man in Paradise. To be blind makes one completely dependent on others for everything. “I was eyes to the blind” (Job 29:15a). As sad as blindness is, our spiritual blindness of being separated from God, our Creator and Benefactor, is the saddest situation of all. To make matters worse we do not realize this blindness. Sin brought spiritual blindness into the world, so that the danger of our way cannot be seen. The sad truth is that we only see worldly pleasure and temporal satisfaction. “Their eyes stand out with fatness: they have more than heart could wish. They are corrupt, and speak wickedly concerning oppression: they speak loftily. They set their mouth against the heavens, and their tongue walketh through the earth” (Psalm 73:7-9). This is the way we have chosen, but God opens the blind eyes of our heart by sending the light of His Word into their hearts. “I the LORD have called thee in righteousness, and will hold thine hand, and will keep thee, and give thee for a covenant of the people, for a light of the Gentiles; To open the blind eyes, to bring out the prisoners from the prison, and them that sit in darkness out of the prison house” (Isaiah 42:6-7). This was made known in the fullness of time with the birth of Jesus Christ, the Son of God as the light of the world. “That was the true Light, which lighteth every man that cometh into the world. He was in the world, and the world was made by him, and the world knew him not. He came unto his own, and his own received him not. But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name: Which were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God” (John 1:9-13). This makes blind eyes to see their need of Jesus Christ, the Guide of the blind. “The meek will he guide in judgment: and the meek will he teach his way” (Psalm 25:9). Eternity becomes real; to be reconciled to God becomes the bent of our heart. “Turn thee unto me, and have mercy upon me; for I am desolate and afflicted. The troubles of my heart are enlarged: O bring thou me out of my distresses. Look upon mine affliction and my pain; and forgive all my sins” (Psalm 25:16-17). This is the cry of those whose eyes have been opened to see their blindness, and they will find Him (Jesus) to make darkness light before them, and crooked things straight. “All that the Father giveth me shall come to me; and him that cometh to me I will in no wise cast out. For I came down from heaven, not to do mine own will, but the will of him that sent me. And this is the Father’s will which hath sent me, that of all which he hath given me I should lose nothing, but should raise it up again at the last day” (John 6:37-40).
Written by: Cornelius Vankempen
November 19:2016

